The Sonic Slam Inning

One of the things I love about Ranger television broadcasts is the Sonic Slam Inning.  This occurs in every 6th inning of a Ranger television broadcast.  The registration forms are on the side of the Sonic bag you get when you order something at the restaurant.  Fill it out and mail it in, and you’ll be registered for the drawing.  Every game they draw a name and that person has a chance to win some money.  Sonic pays $25,000 if a Ranger hits a grand-slam in the inning.  They also keep a running prize for any homerun hit in the inning.  It starts at $100 and adds $100 every game until a Ranger hits a homerun in the Sonic Slam inning.  Once that happens, it starts back at $100 and continues to increase until another Sonic Slam is hit.

As far as I can tell, the last person to win the $25,000 was Frankie Hugghins of Athens, TX.  Hugghins, 84, won thanks to a grand slam from Rod Barajas in a 2006 game against the Oakland A’s.

I personally know one person who has won the regular homerun prize in the inning.  She won $300 from the first homerun in the inning, and then another Ranger hit a second homerun giving her another $100.  I believe Sonic also gives winners a free dinner at a Sonic Restaurant.

Tonight, Heather Stringer of McKinney won $600 thanks to a 6th inning homerun from Josh Hamilton.

Last year, the Sonic here in our hometown had registration forms on their bags.  So, we were able to register for the contest, but never got our names drawn.  This year, the Sonic is not carrying bags with the registration form, so we haven’t been able to enter.  Have any of you registered for it?  If so, have you won?  Do you know anyone that has won?

This entry was posted in In-Game Commentary, Texas Rangers Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Sonic Slam Inning

  1. Pingback: Some Interesting Blog Stuff | Atop Greene's Hill

  2. Spencer Faulkner says:

    On the bag it states there is an alternate means of entry. I will write them and find out what that is.

  3. Linda g says:

    I just went to sonic a little while ago and it wasn’t on the bag. I’d like to enter, too.

  4. Ever night me and my dad in front of the tv witching the Ranger play ball if a Ranger is going to put over in the 6th it will be Mitch

  5. Dorothy horton says:

    Please tell me how to sign up for rangers slam inning

  6. Beverly jennings says:

    Would love to know which sonic participates
    I haven’t found one yet

    • From what I’ve been able to put together, only Sonics in the DFW Metroplex participate. The last time I checked, the order form was on the back of a take out bag you get when you order. So, if you live in DFW and go to a Sonic, check your bag and see if there’s a form on it. I’ve never been able to find anything online about it.

    • From what I’ve been able to put together, only Sonics in the DFW Metroplex participate. The last time I checked, the order form was on the back of a take out bag you get when you order. So, if you live in DFW and go to a Sonic, check your bag and see if there’s a form on it. I’ve never been able to find anything online about it.

  7. tommy maxwell says:

    How do I get a list of names drawn for the contest? Me and my whole family have been playing for years and never got drawn.I told a friend to register, and two weeks later he got his name pulled.He did not win, but at least he got some food out of the deal.I’d at least like to see my name pulled.

    • From what I’ve been able to put together, only Sonics in the DFW Metroplex participate. The last time I checked, the order form was on the back of a take out bag you get when you order. So, if you live in DFW and go to a Sonic, check your bag and see if there’s a form on it. I’ve never been able to find anything online about it. And, I’ve never been able to find a list of winners. For something they do every game, it’s puzzling how little they do to promote it.

Leave a Reply

