Ben on Ranger Hitting Coaches and the Switch to Magadan

This was from Ben in the comments on my previous post about Dave Magadan replacing Scott Coolbaugh as the Ranger’s hitting coach.

To most Rangers fans, I would have to think that experiences with different hitting coaches are a relatively new and unfamiliar thing. Rudy Jaramillo was a guru on the bench for a good number of years, and off of the top of my head, I can’t honestly remember who was in that position before him. It was a scary thing to see Rudy go, because we could always depend on some great years at the plate, and the players bought into his philosophy wholeheartedly.
We were however very fortunate to have had Clint Hurdle follow behind him seamlessly (correct me if I’m wrong on this…can’t remember if that’s what Art Howe’s role was or not when he was here), and once again I was nervous to see yet another solid bench coach leave, albeit for a great job opportunity. Despite that feeling, I really don’t remember that much about the demise of Thad Bosley, other than he wasn’t around very long after Clint left. Scott Coolbaugh was an interesting choice to take that job, I think for myself because nobody outside of the Rangers circle would have a clue who he was, other than being the brother of the guy responsible for base coaches having to wear helmets on the field now. I don’t think his time here was a complete failure, but I do think the offense suffered under his tutelage.
I am optimistic about Dave coming in. He makes me think of that tier of players that Mile Maddux comes out of: not the greatest skill set as a major league player, but they had decent careers because they were intellectuals with the set they had. That makes for great managers and coaches I think. For those that it came easy to be largely successful, they typically don’t fare well in those roles. I think of all the current managers, the ones with the most major league success would have to be Don Mattingly and Robin Ventura, and the jury’s still out on those, since both clubs crashed and burned at the end of the season. I guess Scioscia wasn’t too shabby, and if you agree with that, then he’d be a large (no pun intended) exception to the rule.

This entry was posted in Texas Rangers Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

