Television Shows I’m Looking Forward to this Fall

I just can’t bring myself to write anything about the Rangers.  I’ve been told I’m too negative sometimes, so I’m trying to get away from that.  There’s just nothing positive to say about the team right now, so I’m just not going to write anything.  So, instead, I’m going to tell you about the television shows I’m looking forward to this fall.

NEW SHOWS

Sleepy Hollow

I’m a fan of historical sci-fi.  I think that’s why I enjoyed Firefly.  That show wasn’t particularly historical itself, but it had that feel because it was set as a western, and that appealed to me. It’s also clearly why I liked the show Alcatraz (see below).  I have also always enjoyed the story of Sleepy Hollow itself and, while I find the premise of this show a little far-fetched, I’m excited to see where it goes and hope that it meets my expectations.  I’ve now seen the pilot and it was good.  The previews for the upcoming episodes were a little concerning, however.  They gave me the impression that the show gets pretty weird.  I know, I know.  We’re talking about a show with a headless horseman set in contemporary times.  What’s NOT going to be weird about it?  But, like I said, it looks like it gets a little weird, even for a show with that kind of premise.  I hope it holds up.

The Blacklist

I like James Spader, and so I’m willing to give anything he’s in a chance.  This looks like a good show from the previews…a criminal mastermind who has decided to work with the government to capture criminals (some they aren’t even aware exist) as long as he can work with a particular woman.  I’m sure it’s not secretly his daughter or anything like that, right?  I mean, they wouldn’t play that obvious of a plot device?  Right??  No???  Anyhow, it does look promising, but…

Once Upon a Time in Wonderland

This is a spinoff of Once Upon a Time (OUAT).  I started watching OUAT on Netflix this summer and really got into it.  I finished the second season just a few days ago and am looking forward to Season 3.  I usually have low expectations for spin-0ffs and this is no different.  It might be good.  I hope it’s good.  But, I’m not expecting it to be.

Brooklyn Nine Nine

This is Andy Samberg’s new cop sitcom.  I have to admit, the commercials made it look pretty dumb, but Samberg is usually funny.  So, I’m going to give it a shot, but it’s on a pretty short leash.  The first episode was OK.  Not great, but there were some good parts.  I’ll give a few more episodes.

The Michael J. Fox Show

This looks good, and Fox is usually pretty smart when it comes to comedy.  The premise involves a man with Parkinson’s disease who had to quit his job and focus on his family, but is now trying to revive his career.  I’ll bite on that synopsis and see where it goes.  The reviews haven’t appeared to be too great on this one, but I often find myself at odds with the reviews (and the people at the networks making decisions, apparently).

Back in the Game

It involves baseball and Maggie Lawson from PSYCH.  Those two things alone are worth tuning in just to try it out.  Also, James Caan as a washed up baseball player.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

That’s a lot of periods.  Meh, I liked the Avengers, so I’ll give this one a chance.  This one, along with Sleepy Hollow are the two I think have the most potential, but are also the most likely to be done poorly and to get canceled early.

Here’s the sad thing.  I often end up really liking a show that gets poor ratings and ends up being canceled after a season or two.  For example, here are some shows I watched every week that apparently no one else liked:

Alcatraz-ended on a huge cliff-hanger with main lead actress lying in hospital bed flat-lining.  Lots of unresolved questions in this one.

Surface-one of my favorite shows ever, and only got one season and ended in a huge cliffhanger

Go On-I would rank this as my favorite sitcom in a long time (behind The Big Bang Theory).  Matthew Perry was great and the cast of characters was hilarious.

Mad Love-this had Sarah Chalk from Scrubs and Jason Biggs, but I really liked the other male actor Tyler Labine.  The wife liked this one too.

RETURNING SHOWS

The Big Bang Theory

I don’t have much to say about this one.  It’s one of the most popular shows on television and it’s very deserving of that moniker.  I look forward to it every week and it almost always delivers.  Sheldon Cooper is one of the best imagined characters in comedy to come along in a long time.

Bones

The wife and I have been watching this show since its beginning.  The current plot line that involves Christopher Pelant is very good.  If you aren’t watching Bones, you should go back and check it out from the beginning.  It’s available on Netflix.

Person of Interest

I’ve liked this one from the beginning.  Some weeks are better than others, but it’s kept me for two seasons now. It’s kind of like the next show on my list, Grimm.

Grimm

I really like Grimm.  Like Person of Interest, some weeks are better than others, but the overall plot line and the memorable characters keep me coming back.  I liked the premise of the show from the beginning and for the most part it delivers on those expectations.  I particularly like the character Monroe who adds a nice level of comic relief to what is usually a pretty serious drama.

Last Man Standing

I really identify with Tim Allen in this show.  I know that lets you know a lot about me, but that’s why I like the show.  A conservative father in a household full of women.  Plus it’s centered around a guy who helps run an outdoor store a la Cabela’s or Bass Pro Shops.  And this season’s premier will include Willie and Si from Duck Dynasty.  Speaking of which:

Duck Dynasty

This show is the best family show that has hit television in years. The new season has  already been going on for several weeks, and every week I love it.  It’s goofy, it’s family friendly, it’s never dirty or off-color, and every episode ends with the family around the table thanking God for all their blessings.  These guys are also some of the most memorable characters you will ever see on television.  And, in a good way, not a Jersey Shore way.  It’s not surprising that it is the most popular show to ever be on cable television.

The Walking Dead

On the complete other side of the coin is the zombie show.  This is cannot miss TV and if you’re not watching the Walking Dead, you are missing out.  I’m very interested to see how the new season goes with the governor vanishing and all the people from Woodbury moving into the prison.  The third season was much better than the second, and I’m hoping the trend carries into the fourth.

Once Upon a Time

As stated previously, I started watching this on Netflix this summer and got hooked.  I had a friend tell me that it got worse as the second season went on, and frankly I disagree.  I enjoyed both of the first two seasons and am looking forward to the third that takes the main characters into Neverland, where apparently Peter Pan is evil.  Very evil.  It takes a interesting kind of show to get you to often sympathize with Rumpelstiltskin as Belle’s beast, and to actually root for Captain Hook to prevail against the Pan.

Parks and Recreation

Ron Swanson.

There’s a number of other shows we watch.  But these are the ones I’m most excited about.  PSYCH is good and we will continue to watch the original CSI, as we have since it began years ago.  I also like the CW’s Supernatural and SyFy’s Warehouse 13.  Dr. Who will premier again sometime in there and maybe some day when the two main actors take time off from making movies, we will get another season of what I think is THE best show on television: Sherlock.

This entry was posted in Other Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

